Dancing With the Stars 2008 Dance Partners Announced

The shoes are on, the practice rooms are booked, and eight New Zealand celebrities are about to embark on a steep learning curve, as the countdown to the 2008 series of Dancing With The Stars begins.

The celebrities’ dance partners are now confirmed: Tina Cross will dance with series two winner Aaron Gilmore; Peter Urlich is partnered with blonde bombshell Hayley Holt; Miriama Smith with series three runner-up Jonny Williams; Martin Devlin with Lauren de Boeck; Geeling Ng with series two runner-up Brian Jones; Cory Hutchings with New Zealand 10 dance champion Rebecca Nicholson; Monty Betham with series one runner-up Nerida Jantti; and Temepara George with series three winner Stefano Olivieri.

The couples will start dance rehearsals in the coming week, in anticipation of the series starting on TV ONE in late February.

Critiquing their ability will be judges Brendan Cole, Craig Revel-Horwood and Alison Leonard. This year the fourth seat will be filled by actor and dancer Paul Mercurio, who was on the judging panel in series one and two. He missed out on series three, as his judging duties on the Australian version of the show precluded his participation in the New Zealand series.

The series will once again be hosted by Jason Gunn and Candy Lane.

Dancing With The Stars producer Debra Kelleher says: “I am very excited as this series’ cast has so much potential. This could be the best dance competition yet. It’s fantastic that we have such an international line-up of judges, including Brendan Cole and Craig Revel-Horwood, plus the charming Paul Mecurio returns. Series four will be bigger and better than ever. New Zealand, get ready to dance!”

Dancing With The Stars is the smash-hit BBC format that has now been seen in more than 30 countries.

Subscribe to our mailing list

About the author

  • ashleigh

    when does the season start on tv im scared ill miss the start!!!

  • Rachel

    It starts on Feb 26 at 8:30pm, find out more here 🙂