2009 Halberg Award nominations announced

The nominations for the 2009 Halberg Awards have been announced with 66 nominations being decided across 4 categories.

The winners will be announced live on Sky Sport on Thursday the 4th of February, 2010.

Who are your picks from the nominations below?

Sportsman of the Year
Michael Ardern (Paralympics)
Dan Carter (rugby)
Julian Dean (cycling)
Scott Dixon (motorsport)
Mahe Drysdale (rowing)
Chris Eaden (ice hockey)
Rory Fallon (football)
Duncan Grant (rowing)
Adam Hall (Paralympics)
Greg Henderson (cycling)
Daniel Holt (Paralympics)
Cameron Leslie (Paralympics)
Rob Matthews (Paralympics)
Richie McCaw (rugby)
Peter Michael (speed skating)
Adam Minopiro (sailing)
Ryan Nelson (football)
Kirk Penney (basketball)
Hayden Roulston (cycling)
Tom Scully (cycling)
Jesse Sergent (cycling)
Daniel Sharp (Paralympics)
David Tua (boxing)
Daniel Vettori (cricket)

Sportswoman of the Year
Nicole Begg (speed skating)
Catherine Cheatley (cycling)
Emma Feathery (rowing)
Mary Fisher (Paralympics)
Paige Hareb (surfing)
Andrea Hewitt (triathlon)
Miriam Jenkins (Paralympics)
Hayley Moorwood (football)
Sophie Pascoe (Paralympics)
Rebecca Scown (rowing)
Alison Shanks (cycling)
Paula Tesoriero (Paralympics)
Emma Twigg (rowing)
Valerie Vili (athletics)
Sarah Walker (cycling)
Casey Williams (netball)
Monique Williams (athletics)

Westpac Sports Team of the Year
All Blacks (rugby)
All Whites (football)
Black Sox (softball)
Black Sticks, Men (hockey)
Black Sticks, Women (hockey)
Brad Jackson and Stu Bannatyne (sailing)
Eric Murray and Hamish Bond (rowing)
Ice Blacks (ice hockey)
Men’s Madison (cycling)
Men’s Team Pursuit (cycling)
Silver Ferns (netball)
Storm Uru and Peter Taylor (rowing)
Tall Blacks (basketball)
Women’s Team Pursuit (cycling)
Women’s 420 (sailing)

Coach of the Year
Ruth Aitken (netball)
Tim Carswell (cycling)
Dayle Cheatley (cycling)
Calvin Ferguson (rowing)
Kirsten Hellier (athletics)
Ricki Herbert (football)
Craig Palmer (cycling)
Gordon Tietjens (rugby)
Richard Tonks (rowing)
Nenad Vucinic (basketball)

Subscribe to our mailing list

About the author

Regan is one of the co-founders of Throng Media.
If they're on, I'm usually watching Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, 24, Battlestar Galactica, The X Factor, Survivor, House of Cards, Mad Men and the NRL.
More from this author »

  • bobscoffee

    How long do these nomination lists have to be? Nearly all of NZ’s national sports teams are nominated for Team of the Year, yet have achieved nothing of great significance. The Silver Ferns had a shocking year this year. Why should they be nominated?