Introducing the Aotearoa Film and Television Awards


Formerly known as the Qantas Film and Television Awards, the Awards are back in 2011 but with a fresh look and a new name that better reflects the nature of the Awards – the Aotearoa Film & Television Awards (AFTAs). 

Approximately sixty AFTAs will be awarded between the two Awards ceremonies, and a complete list of award categories and criteria are available on the AFTA website  

With the very strong slate of films and television programmes produced in New Zealand over the past year, organisers expect this year’s Awards to be the most hotly contested in years.


The key dates for the 2011 Awards are:

Entries open:   Monday, 27 June

Entries close:   Wednesday, 10 August

Finalists Announcement: Friday, 14 October

Craft Awards: Thursday, 10 November

Gala Awards: Saturday, 12 November


Regular followers of the Film and Television Awards will notice that the Awards have been moved back by about eight weeks from their normal timing in early September.  This is a one-off change which recognises the Rugby World Cup activities in New Zealand across most of September and October.

The Awards continue to be administered jointly by The Screen Directors’ Guild of New Zealand and ThinkTV (formerly the New Zealand Television Broadcasters’ Council).


Subscribe to our mailing list

About the author

Regan is one of the co-founders of Throng Media.
If they're on, I'm usually watching Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, 24, Battlestar Galactica, The X Factor, Survivor, House of Cards, Mad Men and the NRL.
More from this author »

  • regan

    AFTA rolls off the tongue a bit nicer doesn’t it?

  • tomsc

    Cue the inevitable round of afta-thought etc jokes….

  • AF

    Who is going to the AFTA party?

  • tvtv

    I want an invite to the AFTA party!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • regan

    heh.. I didn’t even think of that.  We were wondering about comparisons to the BAFTA’s this morning though