Finalists Announced: New Zealand Television Awards 2012

The build up to New Zealand’s most glamorous Television event began today, with the announcement of this year’s Television Awards finalists.

The 46 categories cover the full spectrum of Television production, from News, Drama, Reality, documentary and everything in-between. New categories, such as One-Off Drama and Breaking News, were well received and reflect the changing nature of Television programming. Leading the nominations was Tangiwai: A Love Story, a finalist in nine categories, while perennial favourites likeUnderbelly and Go Girls were also multiple nominees.

The Awards will be presented at a full, formal dinner event to be held at The Langham, Auckland on Saturday, 3 November.Highlights will screen on TV ONE on Sunday, 4 November.

Tickets for the Awards event are now on sale and are available at

The New Zealand Television Awards 2012 finalists are:


News and Current Affairs
Qantas Best Scheduled News Programme
ONE News
3 News
Kordia Best Coverage Breaking News
3 News Christchurch Earthquakes December 2011
ONE News Caterton Ballooning Tragedy
3 News Ewen Macdonald Verdict
Best News OR Current Affairs Presenter
Julian Wilcox Native Affairs
Mike McRoberts 3 News
John Campbell Campbell Live
Best News Reporting
Amanda Gillies 3 News
Heather du Plessis-Allan ONE News
Duncan Garner & Patrick Gower 3 News
Best Current Affairs Reporting for a Weekly Programme OR One-Off Current Affairs Special
Melanie Reid 60 Minutes
Janet McIntyre, Max Adams & Chris Cooke Sunday
Mark Crysell & Julie Clothier Sunday
Janet McIntyre & Carolyne Meng-Yee Sunday
Best Current Affairs Reporting for a Daily Programme
Gill Higgins & Chris Lynch Close Up
Tristram Clayton Campbell Live
John Campbell Campbell Live
Best Current Affairs Series
60 Minutes
Campbell Live
Investigation of the Year
John Hudson & Chris Cooke Sunday – Steel Trap
John Campbell and Pip Keane Campbell Live – Friends : John Banks & Kim Dotcom
Melanie Reid & Eugene Bingham 60 Minutes – The Eye of the Storm
The Langham, Auckland Journalist of the Year
Finalists to be announced at the Awards ceremony, being the winners of each of the four reporting categories.
Best News Camera
Bob Grieve 3 News
Phil Johnson 3 News
James Marshall ONE News
Best Current Affairs Camera
Chris Brown 20/20
Daniel Grade 60 Minutes
Warren Armstrong Campbell Live
Best News Editing
Brent Walters ONE News
Rebecca O’Sullivan 3 News
Luis Portillo Breakfast
Best Current Affairs Editing
Paul Sparkes Close Up
Andrew Gibb Close Up
Bob Grieve 60 Minutes
Best Graphics
Vinay Ranchhod
Vinay Ranchhod
Ben Ashby
General Television
Images & Sound Best Drama Series
Underbelly NZ: Land of the Long Green Cloud Screentime NZ Ltd
Go Girls Season 4 South Pacific Pictures
Nothing Trivial South Pacific Pictures
NZ On Air Best One-Off Drama
BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield MF Films
Siege Screentime NZ Ltd
Rage Tom Scott Productions
Best Comedy OR Comedy Series
7Days MediaWorks / thedownlowconcept
Wilson Dixon -The New Zealand Tour Satellite Media
Hounds thedownlowconcept
Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Language Programme
Kia Ora Molweni George Andrews Productions
Tamaki Paenga Hira Māori Television
Whare Taonga Scottie Productions Limited
Best Presenter: Te Reo Māori
Pania Papa AKO
Piripi Taylor Te Kaea
Julian Wilcox Native Affairs
Best Children’s/Youth Programme
Girl vs. Boy KHF Media
Let’s Get Inventin’ Luke Nola
The Erin Simpson Show Whitebait TV
Best Information Series
Global Radar Jam TV
Neighbourhood Satellite Media
The Nutters Club Top Shelf Productions
Best Entertainment OR Event Programme
2012 Comedy Gala MediaWorks
Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2011 MediaWorks
The Sitting Top Shelf Productions
Best Factual Series
Radar Across the Pacific Alexander Behse / Zeitgeist Productions
Intrepid Journeys Jam TV
Funny Roots Two Heads
Best Observational Reality Series
Songs From the Inside Awa Films Ltd
Rescue 1 Great Southern Television
SPCA Rescue  – Christchurch Earthquake Special Imagination Television
Best Constructed Reality Series
Missing Pieces Eyeworks New Zealand
Marae DIY Screentime NZ Ltd
The Food Truck Two Heads
Best Performance by an Actress
Sara Wiseman What Really Happened – Votes for Women
Kate Elliott BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Amanda Billing Shortland Street
Best Performance by a Supporting Actress
Miranda Harcourt Tangiwai – A Love Story
Sarah Pierse BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Miriama Smith Siege
Best Performance by an Actor
Craig Parker Shackleton’s Captain
Mark Mitchinson Siege
Ryan Okane Rage
Best Performance by a Supporting Actor
Mick Rose Tangiwai – A Love Story
Peter Elliott BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Mike Minogue Rage
Best Presenter – Entertainment/Factual
Andrew Lumsden Global Radar
Matai Smith Homai Te Pakipaki
Paul Henry Would I Lie To You?
Best Script – Drama/Comedy
Paula Boock & Donna Malane Tangiwai – A Love Story
John Banas Siege
Tom Scott and Grant O’Fee Rage
Images & Sound Best Director – Drama/Comedy
Fiona Samuel BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Mike Smith Siege
Danny Mulheron Rage
Best Director – Entertainment/Factual
Julie Christie The Block NZ
Peter Young Get Fresh with Al Brown
Mike Smith Underbelly NZ: Land of the Long Green Cloud
Best Multi-camera Direction
Robert Hagen Dame Kiri Te Kanawa “A Gala Concert”
Mitchell Hawkes Vodafone NZ Music Awards 2011
Mitchell Hawkes Wilson Dixon -The New Zealand Tour
Best Cinematography Drama/Comedy
David Paul Tangiwai – A Love Story
DJ Stipsen Siege
David Paul Rage
Images & Sound Best Editing Drama/Comedy
Margot Francis BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Margot Francis Siege
Jono Woodford Robinson Rage
Best Original Music
Joel Haines Strongman – The Tragedy
Peter Hobbs Tangiwai – A Love Story
Don McGlashan BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Best Sound Design
Dick Reade Strongman – The Tragedy
Phil Burton, Chris Hiles, Don Paulin Tangiwai – A Love Story
Chris Burt Siege
Best Production Design
Images & Sound Shackleton’s Captain
John Harding Tangiwai – A Love Story
Tracey Collins BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Best Costume Design
Nic Smillie Tangiwai – A Love Story
Kirsty Cameron BLISS – the beginning of Katherine Mansfield
Sarah Voon Go Girls Season 4
Best Make-Up Design
Tracey Sharman Strongman – The Tragedy
Linda Wall Tangiwai – A Love Story
Vanessa Hurley & Stefan Knight Go Girls Season 4
JDA Best Popular Documentary
Rhodes, Actor Singer Robert Hagen / Arts and Entertainment Productions
Inside Child Poverty Red Sky Film & Television Ltd
The Green Chain Meg Douglas & Kathleen Mantel / Scottie Productions Limited
Best Feature OR Drama Documentary
Strongman – The Tragedy Paula McTaggart and Gaylene Preston / A Bigger Picture
When a City Falls – the people’s story Gerard Smyth & Alice Shannon / Frank Film
Shackleton’s Captain James Heyward & Andy Salek / Making Movies
Best Director Documentary
Gerard Smyth /Alice Shannon When a City Falls – the people’s story
Leanne Pooley Shackleton’s Captain
Bryan Bruce Inside Child Poverty
Best Cinematography – Documentary/Factual
Thomas Burstyn CSC  &  Chris Brokensha Strongman – The Tragedy
Simon Baumfield Shackleton’s Captain
Mark Chamberlin Neighbourhood
Best Editing – Documentary/Factual
Ken Sparks, Richard Lord When a City Falls – the people’s story
Tim Woodhouse Shackleton’s Captain
Mark Albiston Blakey


Subscribe to our mailing list

About the author