Rowers dominate at Halberg Awards

HalberglogoRowing reigned supreme at last night’s Halberg Awards with Hamish Bond and Eric Murray claiming the top award following their dominant gold medal win at London 2012 last year.

The pair also claimed the team of the year award with Mahe Drysdale taking the Sportsman of the Year awards and Valerie Adams making it seven in a row in the Sportswoman of the Year category.

The winners:

Supreme Award
Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (Rowing)

NZ Sporting Moment of the Year
Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan Olympic gold (Rowing)

Sportsman of the Year
Mahe Drysdale (Rowing)

Sportswoman of the Year
Valerie Adams (Athletics)

Coach of the Year
Dick Tonks (Rowing)

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Arthur Eustace (Athletics)

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award
Sir John Wells

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Sophie Pascoe (Swimming)

Sporting Team of the Year
Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (Rowing)

Emerging Talent Award
Lydia Ko (Golf)

Subscribe to our mailing list

About the author