The 2014 TV Guide Best On The Box awards winners are announced. There are a few surprises…

Continue reading »

BestontheBoxlogoVoting has opened in the 2014 TV Guide Best of the Box Awards. Here are the nominees:

Hayley Holt - (The Crowd Goes Wild – Prime)
Rachel Hunter - (New Zealand’s Got Talent – TV1)
Laura McGoldrick - (Sky Sport)
Toni Street - (Breakfast – TV1)
Pippa Wetzell - (Fair Go – TV1)
Renee Wright - (TV1)

SEXIEST MAN Continue reading »

HalberglogoRowing reigned supreme at last night’s Halberg Awards with Hamish Bond and Eric Murray claiming the top award following their dominant gold medal win at London 2012 last year.

The pair also claimed the team of the year award with Mahe Drysdale taking the Sportsman of the Year awards and Valerie Adams making it seven in a row in the Sportswoman of the Year category. Continue reading »

While this news is unsurprising, this is not news worth celebrating.

We have a fantastic Television industry in New Zealand and this announcement means a whole lot of talented people won’t be recognised publicly by their peers for their outstanding work.

ThinkTV, the convenor of the 2012 New Zealand Television Awards, has announced the end of the annual Awards following discussions with its major partners TVNZ and MediaWorks.

The Awards have been through some turbulent times in the last few years with the loss of a key sponsor in 2011 and with the Screen Directors’ Guild of New Zealand pulling out of what was the joint Film and Television Awards at the beginning of 2012.

ThinkTV, on behalf of its members, would like to thank the judges, contestants, associated sponsors and the many others for the time and effort they have contributed to making the awards the success that they have been for the last five years.

The 85th Academy Award Nominations have been announced – what films will get the golden nod? Les Miserables, Lincoln, Life of Pi or Argo?

For the first time in 40 years, the host of the Academy Awards will help announce the Oscar nominations.

Oscar host Seth MacFarlane will join actress Emma Stone to reveal the nominees you can see here when the nominees are announced at approx 2.30am NZDT. Continue reading »

The build up to New Zealand’s most glamorous Television event began today, with the announcement of this year’s Television Awards finalists.

The 46 categories cover the full spectrum of Television production, from News, Drama, Reality, documentary and everything in-between. New categories, such as One-Off Drama and Breaking News, were well received and reflect the changing nature of Television programming. Leading the nominations was Tangiwai: A Love Story, a finalist in nine categories, while perennial favourites likeUnderbelly and Go Girls were also multiple nominees.

The Awards will be presented at a full, formal dinner event to be held at The Langham, Auckland on Saturday, 3 November.Highlights will screen on TV ONE on Sunday, 4 November.

Tickets for the Awards event are now on sale and are available at

The New Zealand Television Awards 2012 finalists are: Continue reading »

The Screen Directors Guild (SDGNZ) is concerned that there is misinformation regarding the Film and Television Awards.

In 2005, as a service to the screen industry, the SDGNZ decided to run the film and television awards after several years of no awards event.

“The Guild took up this initiative as we felt it was important to recognise talented film and television makers by ensuring both were acknowledged in Awards ceremonies.” says Executive Director of SDGNZ Anna Cahill. Continue reading »

Entries have opened today for the New Zealand Television Awards 2012.

With a total of 46 categories to be contested, the Awards are set to once again recognise and celebrate the very best of New Zealand’s Television industry.

Entry information and criteria is available on the Awards website  Continue reading »

The Screen Directors’ Guild of NZ has confirmed that the Film categories in the Aotearoa Film & Television Awards are unlikely to play a part in this year’s event, after funding constraints have forced a review of its priorities this year.

The Awards have been jointly organised by the Guild and ThinkTV for the past four years. Together they’ve developed an iconic annual event, which has become a major feature of the screen industry calendar each year.

Guild Executive Director Anna Cahill said it was disappointing to bring to a close the partnership, but funding and resource constraints in the current environment  has meant the Guild has had to rethink its priorities, and to put more of its efforts into skill development and training for directors and editors.

Ms Cahill said that the Guild will be consulting with the NZ Film Commission and other film industry participants to find alternative ways to celebrate the film industry’s successes each year.

Chief Executive Rick Friesen says ThinkTV is committed to supporting a continuation of the Television awards portion of the event.


New Zealanders have shown their appreciation for TV ONE and TV2, with their shows and stars winning a staggering 16 awards out of a possible 25 in the annual TV Guide Best on the Box awards, announced today.

One of the biggest winners was Breakfast’s Tamati Coffey, whose name is attached to three wins. Breakfast won Best Morning Show, and Coffey not only took the Best Weather Presenter gong for the third time, but has also been voted by the public as the Sexiest Man.

“Knowing that Kiwis love getting up to speed with their news, business and weather from Breakfast makes the 3:30am wake up call all worth it!” Tamati told the TV Guide.

“I’m also very humbled to be accepting my third Best Weather Presenter award, and with the Sexiest Man, well, I don’t know about that, but I’ll take it! Thanks New Zealand!”

Those weren’t the only awards for Breakfast, with the Saturday edition’s presenter Toni Street picking up the female equivalent of Coffey’s award for Sexiest Woman, and Business presenter Nadine Chalmers-Ross taking Rising Star.

TVNZ’s News and Current Affairs shows polled well across the board, with Fair Go winning for Best Advice Show, the 2011 Rugby World Cup winning for Best Special Event, and ONE News once again winning for Best News.

“This is an honour for us, because it is voted for by our viewers,” says ONE News anchor Wendy Petrie. “Although it is great to win critics’ awards as well, there’s just that little something extra when you know you’re striking it right with your actual audience, and we couldn’t be happier.”

There were also big wins for TVNZ in the drama field, with TV2’s Shortland Street winning Best Drama and Best Actress (Amanda Billing), and Go Girls winning Best Actor (Jay Ryan).

Other awards for TVNZ include Marcus Lush for Best Presenter, General, Intrepid Journeys for Best Documentary Series, Tangiwai for Best One-Off Drama, MasterChef New Zealand for Best Culinary Series, and What Now? for Best Kids/ Youth Show.