Whakatauki

Monday 1 October 2012, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

A series about traditional proverbs; their relevance and use today. In this episode we learn about proverbs associated to the Kiingitanga. (PREMIERE)

Wednesday 23 May 2012, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

Today we look at how religion has played a large role in the production and maintenance of various proverbs expressed over the years and today.

Wednesday 16 May 2012, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

Prominent Ngapuhi speakers discuss the current revival of ancient Nga Puhi proverbs.

Wednesday 2 May 2012, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

We invite language experts Meto Hopa and Tame Pokaia to discuss the word tongi. Tongi or Tongikura are the Tainui words for whakatauki. These two experts discuss these proverbs.

Wednesday 14 March 2012, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

Rahui Papa discusses Maori proverbs with tribal authorities on the subject. To begin the show, language experts brainstorm about the benefits of these proverbs.

Wednesday 3 August 2011, 8.00pm on Maori Television

We discuss with various great orators of whakatauki why the gift to produce and express whakatauki is slowly diminishing, and it could be that we may never see the likes of such people again.

Wednesday 10 August 2011, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

On tonight’s episode some of the greatest Ngati Whatua orators take the opportunity to explain and discuss some of their tribal proverbs.

Wednesday 17 August 2011, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

The origins of whakatauki are evident in the way they are applied in todays’ Maori world. We take a look back at some examples from this season’s Whakatauki.

Wednesday 13 July 2011, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

Prominent Ngapuhi speakers discuss the current revival of ancient Ngapuhi proverbs.

Wednesday 27 July 2011, 8.00 pm on Maori Television

Today we look at how religion has played a large role in the production and maintenance of various proverbs expressed over the years and today.